Sunday Stillness: A guard against anxiety

Phil 4_6&7

Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly

I have quoted this passage to myself innumerable times. The complete quote without the words left out (shown by the ellipses) say:

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6,7 NASB.

 I’m still not sure I’ve plumbed its depths. For example, I’m not sure what the peace of God guarding our hearts really means. Does it mean that after we have prayed and given thanks that genuine faith in God’s power, goodness, and ultimate ability to sort out our situation is so firm that not a sliver of doubt can get in to disturb our peace?

What does it mean to you?

Go HERE to enjoy more Sunday Stillness.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Stillness: A guard against anxiety

  1. I have found that as I come to Jesus and abide in Him deep in the Spirit, we walk and talk everyday. I tell Him everything, asking His advise always and experience His love and presence always. It took me some practice, but now it is as breathing; quite natural!
    Much love XX
    Mia

    Like

  2. To me, it means that Jesus promises to stand as a hedge of protection around me, and guard around my heart so that every arrow coming at me can’t penetrate as I proclaim this beautiful word over my life… 🙂 Another one I love is Zechariah 2:5 – he is a wall of fire around us!

    Like

  3. Great interpretation Pam! I just came across another verse that relates (at least in my mind): Isaiah 26:3 – “You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” That says to me that peace is also a function of what we choose to think about. If we look at the problem, we’ll be fearful. But if we keep our eyes on Jesus, we’ll have peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

