Mural Monday – Three Hills (1)

A week ago we were in Alberta, celebrating the wedding of a niece. The ceremony took place on a farm about 15 minutes’ drive from Three Hills, Alberta. Family members from all over western Canada took over the Super 8 Motel on Highway 21, just a short drive from downtown Three Hills.

Hubby and I went on our usual morning walks and drove into town numerous times. On those walks and drives I noticed  that Three Hills has many murals. Of course I took them home with me (digitally) to share here on the blog

Most of these outdoor paintings depict the pioneers and history of the area.

Mural of the original Three Hills town site - 1911.

The original town site of Three Hills – 1911. Inset: First Post Office built at Three Hills Creek (Artist not named – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

H. Ralph Loosmore - farming activities around Three Hills AB

H. Ralph Loosmore mural – farming activities around Three Hills AB (Painted by Brian Parlane & Crystal U. – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

Mural of steam engine pulling up to the Three Hills Station

Mural of steam engine pulling up to the Three Hills Station (Artist unnamed – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

Mural of Three Hills 1939

Three Hills 1939 (Painted by Heather Hansen & Brian Parlane – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

Mural of trucks lined up at the grain elevator

Trucks lined up at the grain elevator (Painted by Michelle Loughery & Sarah Lindsay – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

Mural of Three Hills General Store

Three Hills General Store (painted by Eldon Walls – Photo © 2013 by V. Nesdoly)

Aren’t these lovely? Any one could be a postcard or a wall painting! I especially like the sepia tones of the general store mural.

Next week I’ll post two more murals and photos of another lovely place I found in the town of Three Hills.

5 thoughts on “Mural Monday – Three Hills (1)

    • Why thank you, Tracy! It’s totally ‘stumble.’ I had no idea there were murals in Three Hills, but driving around town saw them right away and because I’m a mural fan, started clicking.

      Maybe you’re right about murals being a Canadian thing. Quite a few years ago a small town on Vancouver Island (Chemainus) lost its mill and decided to become a tourist destination using murals. They got written up in some biggish press (like, I think, Reader’s Digest) and it wouldn’t surprise me to learn that other towns have tried to follow suit.

      And what a great idea for a postcard series!

      Like

      • More and more and more reasons for me to get to your part of Canada. It’s all in God’s hands, of course, but I have been feeling so much better lately (better than I’ve been in since 2002!), and I can actually imagine a journey west someday!

        Like

    • Thanks Ruth! I picked up on the fact that you had done some of your schooling in Three Hills. This was my first visit (except for a youth weekend at the PBI when I was still in high school–I don’t want to admit how long ago that would be!). We thought it was a lovely town.

      Like

Leave a Reply

