Sunday Stillness – Divine alarm clock

Isa 50:4 "He awakens me morning by morning..."

Photo by Violet Nesdoly – violetnesdoly.com

A few weeks ago at a women’s retreat, the speaker quoted Isaiah 50:4,5. I’m sure I had heard those verses before but they resonated with me in a new way.

One reason, perhaps, is because having a morning quiet time has become an ingrained habit. I never need an alarm clock—I just wake up on my own at 5:00 to 5:30 to keep my appointment. In a way I feel like I’m the “me” in the verse who gets wakened to listen and be taught.

If you read the whole passage, you will see why God gives the listener not only a keen ear but also an instructed tongue. It is to give a word to “sustain the weary,” that is, to encourage and build up someone who may feel like giving up, be discouraged, weary, or weak…

I happen to blog the things I learn in my quiet time. I hope and pray that they are fulfilling that wonderful purpose of being a source of hope, encouragement, and new strength to the weary, discouraged, and disheartened.

Go HERE to enjoy more of today’s Sunday Stillness.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Stillness – Divine alarm clock

Leave a Reply

